top of page

Fines for oversize violations in Colorado

Any person who violates the maximum permitted weight on an axle or on gross weight shall be punished by the following fine plus a surcharge of sixteen percent of the fine:


1-2,500 lbs

2,501-5,000 lbs

5,001-7,500 lbs

7,501-10,000 lbs

Over 10,000 lbs



$ 50





$150 for each 1,000 pounds additional overweight,plus$ 400.00

Escort vehicle requirements can vary widely from state to state, encompassing mandatory driver qualifications, training, certifications, vehicle weights, mandatory signage, flags, lighting specifications, essential onboard equipment, and other factors. The SafeGuard team is well-equipped to furnish you with comprehensive information on any additional requirements specific to your designated route.



Department of Transportation
Extra-Legal Permit Office
4201 E. Arkansas Ave. Suite 124
Denver, Colorado, 80222
T: (303) 757-9539
(800) 350-3765

Hours of Business

7:30 AM - 4:30 PM (Mountain time) ESCORTS

bottom of page