top of page

Fines for oversize violations in Texas.

  • In Texas, vehicles discovered to be unlawfully overweight face fines ranging from $100 to $150 for the initial offense (within one year of the first violation), $150 to $250 for the second offense (within one year of the initial violation), and $200 to $500 for the third offense (within one year of the second violation). A second offense may result in imprisonment for up to sixty days, while a third offense could lead to imprisonment for up to six months. Although the driver of the overloaded vehicle is typically charged with the violation, recent legislation (Article &701d-11, Section 5b) has enabled prosecuting the individual responsible for overloading the vehicle as well.

           Weight                                         

Less than 2,500 lbs

2,500 – 5,000 lbs

5,001 – 10,000 lbs

10,001 – 20,000 lbs

20,001 – 40,000 lbs

More than 40,000 lbs

Fine

$100 - $500

$500 - $1.000

$1.000 - $2.500

$2.500 - $5.000

$5.000 - $7.000

$7.000 - $10.000

980-414-6611

Escort vehicle requirements can vary widely from state to state, encompassing mandatory driver qualifications, training, certifications, vehicle weights, mandatory signage, flags, lighting specifications, essential onboard equipment, and other factors. The SafeGuard team is well-equipped to furnish you with comprehensive information on any additional requirements specific to your designated route.

TxDOT_logo_as_of_2023.svg.png

Motor Carrier Division
Mailing address:
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX 78731
PHONE: (800) 299-1700
(phone shuts down 15 minutes prior to end of day)

Hours of Business

Permit Section Hours:Mon-Fri 6AM – 6PM | Sat 6AM - 2PM (Central time)

bottom of page