top of page

Fines for oversize violations in Alabama

  • Fines in Alabama are determined by individual counties and can be between $100 and $500 per violation.

  • Violating Section 32-9A-2(a)(1) may result in a misdemeanor charge with fines ranging from $25 to $2,000 for each offense.

  • Offenders may also face up to 30 days in county jail per offense.

  • Violations of Section 32-9A-2(a)(2) a. or b. may lead to misdemeanor charges with fines between $1,000 and $2,500 per violation.

  • Operators of commercial motor vehicles breaching Section 32-9A-2(a)(2) a. and causing a metal coil to escape may face misdemeanor charges with fines ranging from $2,500 to $5,000.

          Weight                                                              Fine


        2,000 – 3,000 lbs                                                                                    $10


        3,001 – 4,000 lbs                                                                                    $30


        4,001 – 5,000 lbs                                                                                    $60


        5,001 lbs and over                                                                                $100

Escort vehicle requirements can vary widely from state to state, encompassing mandatory driver qualifications, training, certifications, vehicle weights, mandatory signage, flags, lighting specifications, essential onboard equipment, and other factors. The SafeGuard team is well-equipped to furnish you with comprehensive information on any additional requirements specific to your designated route.

Alabama DOT Maintenance Bureau
Permits & Operations
1409 Coliseum Boulevard
Montgomery, AL 36110
Tel: (334) 834-1092 | (800) 499-2782

Hours of Business

7:00 AM - 4:45 PM (Central time)



bottom of page