top of page

Fines for oversize violations in Georgia

  • Violating the load limitation provisions of Code Section 32-6-26 leads to the presumption of causing damage to public roads and bridges in the state due to overloading.

  • Damages for excess weight are assessed at a rate of five cents (5) per pound over the allowed weight limitations, including any applicable variances.

  • For certain vehicles, damages for excess weight are assessed at one hundred and twenty-five percent (125%) of the standard rate applied to vehicles operating without a permit.

  • Within 30 days of receiving a citation, the owner or operator of the offending vehicle must pay the assessed amount to the Department of Public Safety or request an administrative determination of the assessment's validity and amount.

  • The Overweight Citations Unit is responsible for collecting and processing monetary fines imposed on trucks found to be overweight when cited on Georgia highways by the Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Unit of the Motor Carrier Compliance Division.


For all excess weight over the allowed limits


5 cents per pound

Escort vehicle requirements can vary widely from state to state, encompassing mandatory driver qualifications, training, certifications, vehicle weights, mandatory signage, flags, lighting specifications, essential onboard equipment, and other factors. The SafeGuard team is well-equipped to furnish you with comprehensive information on any additional requirements specific to your designated route.


download (1).png

Georgia Department of Public Safety
Oversize Permit Unit
P.O. Box 1456
Atlanta, GA 30371

Phone: (844) 837-5500
Phone Oversize: (404) 635-8176
Phone Single Trip: (844) 837-5500
Fax: (575) 353-7732

Hours of Business

Annual Permits 8:00AM–4:00PM | Permit Line 7:00AM–4:45PM | Customer Service 7:00 AM-4:45 PM

bottom of page