top of page

Fines for oversize violations in Idaho

49-1013. Violation Penalties:

  1. It is illegal and constitutes a misdemeanor for anyone to breach any provisions within this chapter. However, infringements specified in subsection (3), paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) will be deemed infractions.

  2. Those found guilty of violating sections 49-434A, 49-1003, and 49-1006 through 49-1012 of the Idaho Code may face a fine of up to three hundred dollars ($300), imprisonment in the county jail for a maximum of thirty (30) days, or a combination of both.

  3. Violations of sections 49-438, 49-1001, 49-1002, 49-1004, and 49-1005 of the Idaho Code incur the following penalties:

    • Overweight from one (1) pound to one thousand (1,000) pounds is fined five dollars ($5.00) and is considered an infraction.

    • An additional penalty of one hundred fifty dollars ($150) is imposed for failing to deploy a variable load suspension axle, resulting in adjacent axles exceeding the allowable weight by two thousand one (2,001) pounds or more.

    • Individuals convicted of an infraction or misdemeanor for violating two (2) or more provisions of sections 49-1001, 49-1002, or 49-1004 at the same time will be charged the full penalty for the primary violation.

    • Furthermore, individuals convicted of an infraction or misdemeanor will be charged an additional penalty of ten dollars ($10.00) for each additional misdemeanor conviction or five dollars ($5.00) for each additional infraction for violations of sections 49-1001, 49-1002, or 49-1004 committed simultaneously.

  4. In Idaho, if caught exceeding the gross weight limit by four thousand pounds or more on a Friday, individuals may be detained until the judge is available on Monday.


1 – 1,000 lbs

1,001 – 2,000 lbs

2,001 – 4,000 lbs

4,001 – 15,000 lbs

15,001 – 20,000 lbs

20,001 lbs and over





$25 + .13 cents  for each additional pound 

$1,500 + .20 cents  for each additional pound

$2,500 + .30 cents  for each additional pound 

Escort vehicle requirements can vary widely from state to state, encompassing mandatory driver qualifications, training, certifications, vehicle weights, mandatory signage, flags, lighting specifications, essential onboard equipment, and other factors. The SafeGuard team is well-equipped to furnish you with comprehensive information on any additional requirements specific to your designated route.


download (3).png

Transportation Department
Over Legal Permit Office
P.O. Box 7129
3311 W. State Street
Boise, ID 83707
PHONE: (208) 334-8420
Intrastate: (800) 662-7133

Hours of Business

7:30 AM - 5:00 PM (Mountain time)

bottom of page