top of page

Fines for oversize violations in New Jersey.

  • Violators of this section may face fines up to $1,000.00 and could be imprisoned for up to 10 days if unable to pay the fine.

  • Both the owner and operator of the vehicle involved in the violation are held responsible for any damage caused to the bridge, whether it is owned by a municipality, corporation, or the State.

  • New Jersey Police Officers typically enforce Weight Restriction Violations under either NJSA 39:3-20.3 (Overweight as to Gross Vehicle Weight - GVW) or NJSA 39:3-84 (Overweight on the Axles).

  • Violations under NJSA 39:3-20.3 incur higher fines, starting at $500 for the first 1,000 pounds and $100 for each subsequent 1,000 pounds exceeding the Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW).


Up to 10,000 lbs

10,001 and above

3rd offense


$.02 per pound in excess weight

$.03 per pound in excess weight

Escort vehicle requirements can vary widely from state to state, encompassing mandatory driver qualifications, training, certifications, vehicle weights, mandatory signage, flags, lighting specifications, essential onboard equipment, and other factors. The SafeGuard team is well-equipped to furnish you with comprehensive information on any additional requirements specific to your designated route.

download (12).png

Department of Transportation
OS/OW Permit Office
1035 Parkway Avenue
PO Box 600
Trenton, NJ 08625
PHONE: (609) 530-6089

Hours of Business

7:30 AM - 4:00 PM (Eastern time)


bottom of page