top of page

Fines for oversize violations in Vermont.

  • Fines for subsequent violations outlined in subchapter 15, Article 1 of this title will be determined based on subdivision (b)(1) of this section, with the following percentage increments: a five percent increase upon a second conviction within one year, a ten percent increase upon a third conviction within one year, and a fifteen percent increase upon a fourth or subsequent conviction within one year.

  • Fines resulting from violations of this section will be allocated to the transportation fund, unless they stem from enforcement actions on a town highway conducted by an enforcement officer employed by or under contract with the municipality. In such cases, the fines will be remitted to the municipality, with the exception of a $6.00 administrative fee per case, which will be retained by the state.

           Weight                                         

0 – 5,000 lbs

5,001 – 10,000 lbs

10,001 – 15,000 lbs

15,001 – 20,000 lbs

20,001 – 25,000 lbs

25,000 lbs and over

Fine

$15 for each 1,000 lbs overweight

$30 for each 1,000 lbs overweight

$45 for each 1,000 lbs overweight

$60 for each 1,000 lbs overweight

$90 for each 1,000 lbs overweight

$150 for each 1,000 lbs overweight

Escort vehicle requirements can vary widely from state to state, encompassing mandatory driver qualifications, training, certifications, vehicle weights, mandatory signage, flags, lighting specifications, essential onboard equipment, and other factors. The SafeGuard team is well-equipped to furnish you with comprehensive information on any additional requirements specific to your designated route.

980-414-6611

hs-emp-branding-image-data_.png

Commercial Vehicle Operations Unit
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603
PHONE: (802) 828-2064

Hours of Business

7:45 AM - 4:30 PM (Eastern time)

bottom of page